CODEO Congratulates Jean Mensah And Her Deputies Over Their New Positions At EC

The Coalition of the Domestic Election Observers (CODEO) congratulates the newly sworn-in Chairperson, Mrs. Jean Mensa; Deputy Chairpersons Mr. Samuel Tettey and Dr. Bossman, Eric Asare; and Member, Mrs. Adwoa Asuama Abrefa as members of the Electoral Commission of Ghana (EC).

In a press release signed by Albert Arhin, National Coordinator for CODEO, he stated that as they assume office, it expects that the Commissioners will provide the needed leadership, guidance and direction for election administration in the country and hopes that the new leadership of the Commission will take concrete steps to ensure that indeed the Commission is dependable and accountable to the people of Ghana.

“The Commissioners must be fair and firm in their work, be team players, uphold integrity, be transparent and accountable in their dealings, and enhance public confidence in the Electoral Commission and its work. CODEO believes that in view of the approaching 2019 district level elections, the 2020 general elections and other electoral activities, a clear road map should be developed to guide election administration in the near future,” it stated.

CODEO also indicated that this road map must be made public for citizens of Ghana to appreciate the work ahead and that the Commission must also revisit and continue with the electoral reforms (administrative and legal) agenda initiated a few years ago.

“CODEO wishes to assure the new Chairperson, members and the entire Electoral Commission that as it has always done since the year 2000 when the Coalition was formed, it stands in readiness to work with them to deepen the integrity and credibility of election administration in Ghana. The Commission can always count on CODEO to support and safeguard credible electoral processes. CODEO finally calls on all current Commissioners, the entire staff of the EC, political parties, the media,Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) and major election stakeholders to work with the new leadership of the Commission towards credible election administration and for the good of Ghana.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *