Kofi Boakye Yiadom Elected Greater Accra Region Cycling Chairman


…At Most Peaceful Election In Sports
Mr. Kofi Boakye Yiadom of the Legon Botanical Gardens was on Wednesday elected unopposed as the new Chairman of the Greater Accra Regional Cycling Association at a very peaceful election held at the Regional Sports Directorate.

The elections which saw ten clubs represented had all the executive positions going unopposed with Kofi Ocloo being voted as Vice President, Charles Twum Barima retained his position as Secretary, Kweku Sefa Bamfo was elected as Treaasurer with George Amedoda, Wilberforce Quaye and Daniel Djangba taking the positions of Executive Members.

Mr. Edmund Kwame Kpeglo, the Acting Regional Sports Director who sworn the new executive into office commended the club representatives for the peaceful manner they comported themselves as a family for the successful elections.

He said managing or administering sports in Ghana is a sacrificial job and urged the new executive to meet frequently to plan and implement ideas and projects to develop and promote cycling in the Greater Accra Region.

Charles Twum Barima said since 2014, officials of cycling clubs in the region have not been united to form an executive to run affairs properly. He thanked Nat Agoe who has been interim chairman over the period for his good service.

Mr. Kofi Boakye Yiadom, in his acceptance speech thanked the Regional Sports Directorate for supporting the event and prayed to take cycling in the region to higher step, to be second most loved sport in the region, after football.

He appointed a Technical Team to help in training of cyclists in the region. They include; Nat Agoe – organizer, Eric Sowah – assistant organizer, Obodai Sai, Joe Addo, John Zomerlo and Seidu Musah Asan all coaches in the region.

The cycling clubs represented include; Gutin, Fire Bunch, All Stars, Young Stars, HM, Velo Stars, Die Hard, Quick Step and Club Sky. River Park was the only absentee club.

Meanwhile, Theo Armah of Obonu TV fame has also been appointed Media Officer of the Regional Cycling Association.

Story by Sammy Heywood Okine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *