North-East Region Officially Created

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has named Nalerigu as the capital for the newly-created North East Region.

Speaking at a ceremony to present Constitutional Instrument (C.I.) 116 for the creation of the North East Region at the Jubilee House in Accra on Tuesday, 12 February 2019, Mr Akufo-Addo said: “Nalerigu has been chosen as the capital of the North East Region.”

The creation of the North East Region, together with five others, was a campaign promise of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) during the 2016 campaign.

After the NPP won the polls, a Commission of Inquiry, headed by a retired Justice of the Supreme Court, Justice Stephen Brobbey, was instituted to ensure the creation of the region.

Accordingly, Oti, Bono East, Western North, Ahafo, Savannah, North East regions were created.

Meanwhile, Northern Regional Minister, Salifu Saeed has been named as the caretaker minister for the North East Region until a substantive minister is appointed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *